Monday, September 08, 2014

The Carlos Palanca Memorial Awards, celebrating its 64th anniversary on Monday, kept its tradition in honoring Filipino literary excellence with 47 Filipino writers feted.

Writers have joined and submitted literary pieces in over 20 categories, with languages ranging from English to Filipino. These entries were judged by 57 renowned authors, poets, academics and other accomplished critics. The event was hosted by actor Ricky Davao.

The Palanca Memorial Awards bestowed its Gawad Dangal ng Lahi award to Gilda Cordero-Fernando, who told an anecdote about her early writing years in her acceptance speech.

Gilda Cordero-Fernando. Photo courtesy of Rhoy Cobilla.

She also mentioned a work she is particularly proud of.

“Pinoy Pop Culture was one of the books I produced which didn’t feature men in briefs,” the respected writer said, an obvious nod to the corporation she wrote the book for, Bench.

She is best known for her short stories including “The Butcher, The Baker and The Candlestick Maker” (1962) and “A Wilderness of Sweets” (1973). Aside from being an accomplished writer, Gilda Cordero-Fernando is also a visual artist, theater producer and fashion designer.

Gilda Cordero-Fernando, receives the Gawad Dangal ng Lahi award presented by Palanca Foundation’s Sylvia Palanca-Quirino and Carl Anthony Palanca at the Peninsula Manila. Photo courtesy of Rhoy Cobilla.

The Palanca Awards has also inducted two artists to its Hall of Fame: Alice Tan Gonzales and Rodolfo Vera.

Gonzales is known for her knowledge and creativity in the Hiligaynon dialect. In the 1997 Palanca Awards, she won the second and third prizes for “Mga Luha Para Kay Tatay Jose” and “Isa Ka Pompong Nga Rosas,” respectively, under the Hiligaynon Short Story category.

Vera, meanwhile, has been one of the Philippines’ most celebrated theater actors and playwrights. His most notable win in the awards was in 1999 for “Luna, Isang Romansang Aswang,” a full length play which landed him the award's top place.

A one-act stage play was set during a break in the awards. Salvador Biglaen’s “Balediksyon” was brought to life by theater greats including Irma Adlawan, John Arcilla, and Menggie Cobarrubias. Biglaen would later accept his 2nd place award for “Balediskyon.”


For the complete list of winners in the recently concluded 64th Carlos Palanca Memorial Awards, click here.

You Might Also Like